What Lies the Mirror Was Telling Me

Standard

So I have not been back to the gym yet.  I was supposed to go back this week but then I got sick this past weekend and I didn’t feel strong enough to go running on anyone’s treadmill yet.  I thought about going today but I still feel a little groggy and therefore I won’t be returning to the gym until next week.  

I have this thing when I don’t get to the gym for a while where I look in the mirror and all I can see is the fat that I’ve managed to lose starting to creep its way back onto my body.  I know it’s probably more psychological than anything but it is still a terrifying thought.  So terrifying it made me get on the scale yesterday.  

I said that I would weigh myself once a month to keep my weight in check but I couldn’t help myself with what was psychologically staring at me in the mirror.  I was sure that it was going to say that I had gained five or ten pounds, maybe even more (yes I really thought a few weeks missed at the gym added that much) but much to my pleasant surprise it actually said I had lost two pounds.  

Now granted in three weeks or so I could’ve lost more if I had been doing what I was supposed to be doing, but on the bright side I lost weight.  I guess everything is not always what it seems when you look in the mirror. 

 

Jimmetta Carpenter

Writer/Editor

The Diary: Succession of Lies (Now Available)

Writing as “Jaycee Durant”

http://write-2-be.com/

http://www.facebook.com/people/Jimmetta-Carpenter/1069480310

Leave a Reply

