The Sweet Treat Taunting Me in the Refrigerator

Standard

As with any attempt at making healthier choices when a New Year starts, sweets is one of the first things to get axed on most people’s list.  My list of foods that I should not eat a lot of is no different.  Restrict my intake of sweets, any fried foods (which should be easy because I don’t eat a lot of fried food anymore), and not a lot of eating out (once a week is okay though, right?), that is the major no no’s on my list.  

It doesn’t help, however, when you bake a cake (a yellow cake with chocolate icing in particular) for the New Year’s celebration and it is still sitting in the refrigerator, taunting you.  See I don’t particularly eat a lot of sweets per say, but when I do get a taste for something sweet then I get something that will last for days when one night will do.  

This would be why I don’t bake often.  I always run into the problem of making something that will lasts for longer then the taste that I have for it.  I hate to waste food but when I know I don’t want the temptation there in my refrigerator what other choice would there be.  There have got to be healthier versions of sweet treats out there that don’t just make you want more of the sweets that are bad for you.  

Well I suppose it’s just another part of figuring out how to better plan a healthier lifestyle.  On a brighter note, I have gone roller skating every single day this week and have managed to get a really good workout in by doing so.  For anyone who wants a really fun way to workout, try roller skating.  Well I hope the rest of you out there are successfully fighting off all of the things that are tempting you in your journey to better health.  

 

Jimmetta Carpenter

Writer/Editor

The Diary: Succession of Lies (Now Available)

Writing as “Jaycee Durant”

http://write-2-be.com/

http://www.facebook.com/people/Jimmetta-Carpenter/1069480310

Leave a Reply

