The Lingering Scale of Depression

Standard

I haven’t stepped on the scale in a while and to be honest I’m a little terrified to.  I haven’t been able to go to the gym for the last couple of weeks and while I have still kept up with the roller skating as the other part of my exercise, I’m worried that it hasn’t been enough.  

Not to mention that towards the end of last year I was more than generous with my sweets intake Even before the last couple of weeks I have been quite liberal with the amount of sweets I was digesting and I could blame it all on the depression that I was in and the fact that food is my crutch when I get in a depressed state but it’s time to stop using that excuse.  

I know better and not only do I know better but I can do better.  I suppose knowing the numbers couldn’t hurt.  I guess if I get on the scale at least once a month it wouldn’t be a complete devastation.  Getting on the scale has a habit of becoming addictive in a negative way.  You see a number you like you want to keep getting on it to see more numbers you like.  On the flip side, if you see a number you don’t like you feel the need to constantly get on the scale to pray the numbers change in the downward direction.  It’s a bad cycle and I just don’t want to become obsessed with that number on the scale.     

Jimmetta Carpenter

Writer/Editor

The Diary: Succession of Lies (Now Available)

Writing as “Jaycee Durant”

http://write-2-be.com/

http://www.facebook.com/people/Jimmetta-Carpenter/1069480310

 

Leave a Reply

