My New Guilty Pleasure

Standard

So the guys at the gym have starting to lump me in the category of slacking off.  Well it is true that I have cut my days at the gym down from 5 to 3, not intentionally.  For the last several weeks I’ve only been going on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.  But I guarantee that I have not been slacking off of my weight loss efforts, I assure you, just as I assured them.  

The truth of the matter is that I have taken up a new hobby.  I started taking my daughter skating about a month and a half ago as a way to help with her weight loss and getting her on the right track and at the time I hadn’t been on roller skates in over ten years so I of course was a little scared to put skates back on myself.  But my daughter wanted me to skate with her and I can rarely say no to her so I ended up in a pair of skates and I feel a few (okay more then a few) times and swore I would not skate anymore after each fall.  

However, here I am, a month and a half later, remembering why I used to love skating so much all those years ago when I used to do it.  Although then, it wasn’t for the exercise, but that is just what it is, exercise.  I even got us our own pair of skates (which trust me, are so much better than the rental skates) and now we went from only going one night a week, to going four nights a week.  And if any of you out there know anything about how long skating sessions are (anywhere from 3 to 4 hours) then you know I am getting my cardio in regardless of me not getting it in the gym.  

So when the guys accuse me of slacking off, I simply tell them ‘when you go skating for 3 sometimes 4 nights in a row, for 3 ½ to 4 hours at a time then you come tell me I’m slacking off’.  Sometimes I just can’t do the cardio in the morning and then turn around and go skating that evening, it’s simply too much on my legs so I chose skating.  In all actuality, it’s more cardio then I ever do in the gym.  

 

Jimmetta Carpenter

Writer/Editor

The Diary: Succession of Lies (Now Available)

Writing as “Jaycee Durant”

http://write-2-be.com/

https://unpleasantlyplump.wordpress.com/

http://www.facebook.com/people/Jimmetta-Carpenter/1069480310

http://www.passionatewriterpublishing.com/thediary.htm

www.lulu.com/ladybugpress

Leave a Reply

