Not Letting the Pain Win Anymore

Standard

There have been times (very few mind you) that I did not go to the gym.  Not because I didn’t want to go, but because I felt that I couldn’t, or possibly shouldn’t go because I had pain in one place or another that just felt so debilitating.  It was either pain in the heel of my foot (which is excruciating) or pain in my lower back, or the most common for me, pain in my knee (either one of them depending on the day).  

Of course you have those people at the gym who will tell you that you shouldn’t let the pain stop you but then you have the others who sound like they make a lot more sense when they tell you that if you feel pain then you should stop before you make it worse.  So there have been times when I have done that.  I have stopped because the pain just got to be so bad.  However, now I am feeling differently about that theory.  I am feeling more and more like there is so much truth to the saying ‘No Pain, No Gain’.  

Yesterday when I got home from skating with my daughter my knee was hurting really bad.  I put a heating pad on it and ice and of course rested it. I started to think about not going to the gym this morning because I thought that maybe I shouldn’t run on the treadmill with my knee hurting like this.  But when I woke up this morning I told myself that I was not going to let this pain win anymore.  I got my daughter ready to go to her daycare and I grabbed an ice pack out of the freezer and my ace bandage and headed out to the car.  I wrapped my knee up with the ice when I got to the car and drove her to the daycare and then myself to the gym with the ice pack on my knee.  

When I got into the gym I hit the treadmill, and granted I didn’t run as much as I normally do on there, but I did run a little and I completed my2 miles.  My knee was still bothering me the whole time but I just kept telling myself that I was not going to let this pain win anymore.  I had to do it, I had to prove to myself that I was capable of pushing through the pain and finishing up in spite of it.  And I did.  

I am becoming more and more proud of myself and the things that I am accomplishing that I never thought I could, or that I kept telling myself I couldn’t.  Until next time…Whatever it is that you keep letting beat you down, tell yourself from this day forward that you are not going to let that thing win anymore! 

 

Jimmetta Carpenter

Writer/Editor

The Diary: Succession of Lies (Now Available)

Writing as “Jaycee Durant”

http://write-2-be.com/

https://unpleasantlyplump.wordpress.com/

http://www.facebook.com/people/Jimmetta-Carpenter/1069480310

http://www.passionatewriterpublishing.com/thediary.htm

www.lulu.com/ladybugpress

2 thoughts on “Not Letting the Pain Win Anymore

  1. Jimetta, I was pleased to read you went back to the gym, but be careful! Treadmill with a painful knee, especially if you’re not in top condition should be monitered. Muscles may be weak and tendons fragile which could lead to something more serious. I’ve been into health and exercise a LONG TIME and I wanted to share what I know.

    With a treadmill, buy an elastic knee support and wear it throughout your routines. Don’t go as fast as you were used to, slow down and work back up as your knee feels better. There are also other exercises you can do until your knee gets better. Work on upper body training, biceps, triceps, shoulders using weights. Start out with weights that feel comfortable where you can do 3 sets of 8. Once this becomes easy, increase your weight, and continue as you see the lbs melt away. . Stretching side to side, touching your toes, etc. There are so many exercises you can do without harming your knee, or foot. Give it a try and I know you’ll succeed. 🙂

    Nancy MacMillan @ http://blogofavetswife.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

