I confess that…

Standard

I feel broken down when I should be feeling stronger 

I thought that when you are working out in order to lose weight that it is supposed to make your muscles stronger as well as remove the fat (slowly of course).  You are supposed to gain more strength and as the fat melts away you’re supposed to be able to move around better.  Well I am finding out that that is not always true.  In the beginning of this journey I did feel stronger and more mobile but it seems that the harder I push myself and the more that I am physically able to do while actually working out, the more my body feels like it’s falling apart after the workout and throughout the rest of the day.  I feel more pain in my knees and in my feet and my ankles than I did before I could do half the things that I do in the gym now.  I couldn’t run on the treadmill when I started working out and now that I can run on the treadmill, it makes my knees hurt worse when I get off.  I just don’t get it.  The weight is coming off (a little too slowly for my taste), and the at the actual moments that I work out in the gym I feel strong, almost like there isn’t anything I can’t do.  But as soon as I drive myself home and get settled then comes the pain.  Don’t let me actually lie down for a little bit of rest, once I get up I can barely walk cause my feet hurt so bad.  I asked someone in the gym for advice and told them what was going on and they tell me that yeah the working out helps with the weight loss and it does eventually build you up stronger, but the key word is eventually.  They said while it’s melting away the fat it is also breaking down your muscles as well.  The advised me to start taking protein shakes because that would help to restore the muscles and improve their mobility as well as other healthy benefits.  Now why didn’t anyone tell me before?  I might have actually thought that it was worth the $20 to spend at the GNC store to buy something that will keep me from feeling broken down after actually working out.  So the first available $20 that I get, guess what I am going to go out and get?  That’s right, the protein shake.  So my tip to all of you today that might be having the same problem as I am (cause I really hope I’m not the only one with this issue) is to go get you some Whey Protein Powder and they also come in different flavors so it doesn’t have to taste nasty.  Oh the things I still need to discover about the road to healthiness.  Until next time…Keep working, even through the pain, it’s still worth it!

 

Jimmetta Carpenter

Writer/Editor

The Diary: Succession of Lies (Now Available)

Writing as “Jaycee Durant”

http://www.passionatewriterpublishing.com/thediary.htm
http://www.facebook.com/people/Jimmetta-Carpenter/1069480310

http://writetobe.wordpress.com/

https://unpleasantlyplump.wordpress.com/

www.lulu.com/ladybugpress

2 thoughts on “I confess that…

Leave a Reply

