I confess that…

Standard

I am so glad I am not that woman 

Okay I know that I have an issue with my weight.  That I eat for comfort.  That I sometimes eat to sooth my worries and anxiety.  I am not delusional enough to think that, even in my successes of losing a good amount of weight, I am out of the danger zone of having major health issues.  So when I see someone who is more than triple my weight, and I mean my weight when I started this weight loss journey about a hundred pounds ago, my heart gets heavy with sadness at the fact that they clearly can’t see the risk they are putting themselves and their loved ones through.  On the Dr. Oz show today there was a woman who weighs around750 lbs. (yes I typed that right) and she wants to be bigger.  She had the audacity to sit there with a straight face and tell him that she did not have a problem because all of her numbers as far as medical tests were on the level that they should be and that she was proud to be that size.  However, the numbers say that she has a body mass index of 128 (normal range is 18.5-25) which is in a category that hasn’t even been created yet on the BMI charts.  Her glucose is 156 and normal blood sugar is supposed to be under 100 so despite the fact that she says she doesn’t have diabetes, she is well into a state of being diabetic.  She said she would do something if her 2 sons expressed to her that she needed to do something but despite the fact that they said they are scared that she is going to die and leave them she says they don’t really have a problem with her weight.  What’s more is that she told Doctor Oz that she did not need his help.  You can’t help those that don’t want the help and that are not willing to help themselves.  It frustrated me because here I am over here trying my best to lose weight, sometimes literally killing myself (at least that’s what it feels like at the time) trying to do whatever I need to do that is going to work.  And here this woman is just willingly committing suicide by food.  I used to put off doing anything about my weight because I didn’t like the idea of trying to conform to what society thought I should look like, or the idea that people considered beauty to be something that lied in what the number on the scale says.  When I realized that it wasn’t about what society thought the standards of a beautiful woman should be, but rather the health that was beginning to suffer because of the weight, that’s when I woke up.  I just hope and pray that this woman that was on Dr. Oz starts to take her health seriously and gains control of her weight and  that she wakes up sooner rather then later, at the very least, for the sake of her children.  Until next time…Always remember, the numbers don’t lie. 

 

Jimmetta Carpenter

Writer/Editor

The Diary: Succession of Lies (Now Available)

Writing as “Jaycee Durant”

http://www.passionatewriterpublishing.com/thediary.htm

http://www.facebook.com/people/Jimmetta-Carpenter/1069480310

http://writetobe.wordpress.com/

https://unpleasantlyplump.wordpress.com/

www.lulu.com/ladybugpress

Leave a Reply

