I confess that…

Standard

I don’t think I’ll ever really get to that safe place 

Okay I think that I have done something bad.  I made the mistake of thinking that I was in that safe place on my weight loss journey.  You know that place where you know you are consistently working out at the gym (or at home) and you are keeping your meals pretty healthy, both in portion size and in the method you cook, and you think “hey I can reward myself just a little for all my hard work at maintaining this healthy lifestyle”.  I hear trainers on the biggest loser say all the time that you want to eat healthy but you also want to incorporate the foods you like into your diet to make sure that it doesn’t become a chore; something to the effect that you are allowed to reward yourself every once in a while for your good healthy behavior.  Well I think that I might have been taking a little too much advantage of that adage and rewarding myself a bit too heavily lately.  Now I haven’t been consuming large amounts of cakes or pies or cookies (okay a few Oreo cookies, but who’s counting) or ice cream (oh yeah there was that one bowl, or two, the other week-not in the same day of course) but even though the snacks I chose are healthy, I feel like they may have been consumed in abundance.  So I think I have to somehow sit down and rework my plan, workout, meals, everything because per advice that I have gotten from one of my gym buddies, you have to adjust your plan every so often to go along with the progress that you make and I have gotten so used to doing something that I thought was working and I have gotten a lot relaxed in my diet.  I think I might have to go back to the beginning of this journey when I put myself on a strict diet and carefully monitored what I ate.  I just don’t want to get back off track all because I felt that I was in that pocket of safeness.  When you are a person trying to lose weight and become a healthier individual, especially when you have struggled with it for most of your childhood and all of your adult life, you have to constantly monitor and stay on top of how you are working out by always asking yourself, is your workout doing enough, is it causing injury, is your body too used to your workout and you need to adjust it?  You also have to stay on top of your eating habits as well by making sure you are cooking your food in the healthiest way, asking yourself are you eating too much, are you eating enough, that you are snacking on the right snacks.  I guess when it comes to living a healthier lifestyle you just can’t ever be too safe.  So I guess I have some planning to do.  Just when I think I’m on the right track I realize I still have so much more to do.  Until next time…Don’t get too safe in your plan. 

                                                     

Jimmetta Carpenter

Writer/Editor

The Diary: Succession of Lies (Now Available)

Writing as “Jaycee Durant”

http://www.passionatewriterpublishing.com/thediary.htm
http://www.facebook.com/people/Jimmetta-Carpenter/1069480310

http://writetobe.wordpress.com/

https://unpleasantlyplump.wordpress.com/

www.lulu.com/ladybugpress

Leave a Reply

